Anambra Polls: Card Readers fail in various Polling units As Obiano coasts to Victory

Residents of Anambra state, yesterday choosed via the ballot box who will lead them for the next four years.

37 candidates are contesting in the Governorship election, among them is the incumbent governor, Willie Obiano of the All Progressive grand alliance.

Accreditation and voting in some local government started as early as 8 a.m although reports of card readers not working has been a common complaint.

Governor Obiano arrived at his polling unit at Eri Primary School Aguleri, to cast his vote, but also the card reader also didn’t recognize his thumbprint. He had to use an alternative to vote.

There was some confusion at Nsugbe, in Anambra state, as a suspected IBOB member arrested by the police.

Meanwhile, there were also complaints of the failure of the card readers and a few allegations of some people wanting to influence voters’ choice at the ballot.

But Election Observer, Nelson Ekujumi who monitored the process in Akwa South said the accreditation and voting have been going smoothly in all areas visited.
He added that voters turnout has also been impressive with women taking the lead.

Meanwhile, The Candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA in the Anambra governorship election, Willie Obiano is coasting to victory as shown in the results released so far by the Independent
National Electoral Commission.

Results of eleven local governments have so far been announced by INEC with Obiano, who is also the incumbent governor in the State winning all the eleven local governments.

37 political parties fielded candidates in the election but only four are dominant, namely -APC, APGA, PDP and UPP.
Below is the breakdown of the results so far released by INEC.
As we await the Final REsults of the Poll from the Commission in FEW Hours from now

Idemili South:

APC – 4, 063
APGA- 5742
PDP – 2629


APC – 3,415
APGA – 6,615
PDP – 4,416

Onitsha North

APC – 3,808
APGA – 10,138
PDP – 4,143


APC – 5,807
APGA- 13, 167
PDP – 4,073


APC – 5,412
APGA – 8595
PDP – 3856

Orumba South

APC- 3808
APGA – 8,125
PDP – 2412


APC – 5297
APGA – 11,237
PDP – 6,554


APC – 7,016
APGA – 8,575
PDP – 1,530


APC – 5,412
APGA – 14, 593
PDP – 2,323

Awka South

APC – 6,167
APGA – 18,957
PDP – 5,354


APC – 5,756
APGA – 16,966
PDP – 4,377



Facebook Comment